Hawaii Flag Hawaii Islands

Developing tomorrows leaders, one swing at a time


History of the HSJGA

The Hawaii State Junior Golf Association was founded in 1998 by Norman Asao, Oahu Junior Golf Association, Merv Kotake, Greg Nichols, PGA and Mary Bea Porter-King, LPGA/USGA/PGA. The association was fashioned from a need to have one organization represent junior golf in Hawaii and open to any child at a minimal cost. The goal was to provide an environment where any male or female junior, ages 7-18 years could enjoy golf and progress at their own rate while preserving and teaching the traditions and integrity of the game of golf.

The four founding members formed a Board of Directors to represent the world of golf in Hawaii. At the first meeting of the board, Dennis Rose, PGA, (1948-2007) was elected as the first President from 1998-1999. The following year, Mary Bea Porter-King was elected President and has been re-elected each year until the present. The HSJGA’s activities are guided by a volunteer Board of Directors, an Advisory Committee of business leaders and a Professional Advisory Committee of statewide golf professionals to guide the developmental and educational programs plus parents, and golf enthusiasts.

Over the past 11 years, the HSJGA has grown from 350 to over 700 members. Each year, the HSJGA is able to offer more and more opportunities to its members. These include college workshops, mental and physical training clinics; USGA rules clinics, International Team Competition, Junior Tour Series and entry into competitive national and international events.